Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2018, 11:33   #1

44 y/o adventurer looking for berth, will pay my way

I'm looking for a berth on a sailboat passage or longer cruise to gain experience and fulfill a lifelong dream. I'm currently in the eastern USA but will fly anywhere for the right situation.

Here's my blurb from another site:

Hi, I'm Sean. I've been doing adventure travel for a few years and would love to learn how to do that on a boat. I'm expertise-oriented, so if I'm on a boat I'll probably be spending my off time reading about how to be better at it. I'm an engineer, so I'm good at solving problems in a stepwise manner. I've done some big bicycle tours where I've ridden 20,000 km through a dozen countries. A tour like that is mostly fun, but there are definitely periods of cold, discomfort, pain, boredom, bad food, no food, and loneliness. I imagine being able to overcome those difficulties will be valuable at sea.

I'm easygoing and eager to learn. I like good vibes, happiness, and positivity, and I'm completely welcoming of constructive criticism because I always want to get better at whatever I'm doing. I appreciate the advice of experts.

I'm very fit, I don't smoke, drink, or use any drugs except caffeine (but I don't mind when others do), I'll eat anything, and I have no health problems.

I've spent a few two-week stretches sailing the Salish Sea with my brother, so while I don't have any real expertise, I can follow instructions, man a watch, do general work on the boat, and not get seasick. I'm eager to learn everything else.

Cheers!