Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 23:48   #1

Sailing San Francisco - Half Moon Bay - Monterey

Hi folks,

I'm new to cruising the California coast and could use some advice. I've been sailing in the San Francisco Bay for a few years now and am planning to take a trip under sail to Half Moon Bay and then Monterey Bay. This fall I upgraded from a 25' daysailor to an Ericson 34.

I've been out past the golden gate off the coast and back before, but haven't made the turn south yet.

Can anyone provide local knowledge of what to expect weather-wise? I was told that Monterey can get foggy and I should try to get there "early." How early should I be? (Aim for noon? 4pm? sunset?)

I estimate 65 nm from Half Moon Bay to Monterey Harbor, which is somewhere between 10--12 hours depending on wind/boat speed.

Any tips or gotchas regarding anchoring at either location, or anything else to take into account would be appreciated

Thanks!
- Aaron
kimballa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:50   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Sailing San Francisco - Half Moon Bay - Monterey

I've only done the trip a couple of times (racing), but here are a few pointers:

Don't take the "south channel" off of Pt. Lobos unless the seas are really calm. This can be a dangerous area, and it's not really a channel, just a slightly less shallow part of the shoal. I usually sail out to the last channel-marker buoy (R "2") before turning south.

Avoid the "Montara wind hole". In the afternoon and evening there is typically a dead zone offshore from Montara. You want to be at least a few miles out for better wind.

Don't cut the corner at Pillar Pt. when heading into (or out of) Half Moon Bay. The waves can be huge (Mavericks surfing spot).

Santa Cruz is also a nice harbor to visit.

The wind can really shut down after midnight in Monterey Bay.