Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-09-2019, 06:02   #1

Rental of simple sailing yacht in the Phillipines November/December

Dear All,

I'll be in the Philippines in November/December this year, exploring the country and working on my laptop. To me the most fun way to do this would be by sailing between the Islands and living on a sailboat. I'm a 29 y/o IT professional from the Netherlands comfortable sailing small yachts.

I've searching the internet for a company that could rent me a simple yacht (8 to 10m (26 - 33ft) monohull) equipped to sail between the Islands. Whereas I've had no trouble arranging this in Greece and the UK, this seems to be a different story in the Philippines. The only bareboat charters I can find are incredibly expensive superyachts.

Does anyone have contact information or tips about a company or private person that would be willing to rent out a sailboat in the Phillipines? I'm also interested in an approximation of the fees involved.

Kind regards and thanks for your help!

Daan Smit
dbsmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 22:13   #2

Boat: Roberts, C45 Spray - EDM
Re: Rental of simple sailing yacht in the Phillipines November/December

Daan,
This is my viewpoint - I live in the Philippines some of the year.

Yachts are very scarce - and mostly owned by foreigners. I do not think many (if any) are in the yacht hire business.... but you can hire a yacht for the day.

The current cost is 5,000 peso's for 8 hours ... But for long term... full day lets say 6,500 per day. $125 US.

But - no-one is going to trust you to bring the yacht back. So you would get at least 2 crew members. The countryside rate for them is 450 per person/peso/day .... So lets say for 500 they will stay onboard... That's another $20.

Fuel is cheap $1/liter.