Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2019, 19:02   #1

Looking at a boat in Auckland

There's a boat in Auckland that I'm interested in but I have no experience sailing in New Zealand. Our original plan was to find something the Caribbean and spending a year gaining experience before continuing our 3-5 year journey.

I've sailed for years but it has all been no more than 20 miles off the West Coast of the U.S. (Mexico, California.)

I'm looking for information from those of you with experience with New Zealand sailing. We would consider moving on the boat in Auckland and spending time there gaining experience that we need to move on but our impression is that it's a steep learning curve in that part of the world.

It's a lot of open water from Auckland to anywhere...
crayiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 12:14   #2

Boat: Mirage 27 in Toronto; Wright 10 in Auckland
Re: Looking at a boat in Auckland

Well, you didn't get a huge response, crayii. But here's my two cents worth....

Our Wright 10, Above the Fold, is based in Auckland's Westhaven marina. She is, as the name suggests, 10 metres long and is a sloop with a 7/8 fractional rig.

Auckland is in the Hauraki Gulf, which a great sailing ground. There are literally hundreds of anchorages within a few hours sail of Auckland and many are quite isolated (as long as you're not out on a long weekend). IOW, there is almost always somewhere to hide if things get iffy, as well as somewhere to hang out and have sundowners when things are fine.

There is usually decent wind; in fact, we joke that if you won't sail when it's 15 knots or above, you won't sail at all. That's not entirely true -- I have spent long hours motoring in a dead flat calm -- but there is usually a breeze. Usually on the nose, of course, but that's true everywhere.