Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Pacific & South China Sea
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-08-2011, 19:43   #1

Dana Point to Newport - Good for Beginner ?

Hey everyone,

I might as well introduce myself. My name is Cody and I'm new to both sailing and this forum.

I've been out for a few front yard sales around the harbor, taken a few sailing courses, and I'm getting ready for my first overnight charter with my wife. Being new to sailing, and not knowing much about navigation except how to read a (land) map, I was wondering if Dana Point to New Port is a feasible option?

I've got a newer Catalina 30 for 23 hours, and was hoping to cruise up to Newport, find a mooring or anchor, and either spend the night there and come down in the morning, or come back to Dana Point before nightfall and sleep in the harbor.

Any input would be great. I know I sound like a complete newcomer here, but... I am, haha.

Thank you,
Cody

P.S. About how long would that sail be?
Codeman92190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 01:22   #2

Boat: International Etchells USA 125 Black Magic, Santana 20 475 Ghost, Hobie 33 3100 Bruja, dinghies,
Re: Dana Point to Newport - Good for Beginner ?

That's about 13 (thirteen) nautical miles (15 landlubber miles); sounds like a nice trip. But you really ought to carry a nautical chart and know the rudiments of figuring your position so as to not be totally dependent upon a GPS. And it adds fun and confidence to know a little bit about traditional methods of keeping track of where you are. And knowing how to read the harbor charts and know where the shallow places are might save a bit of embarrassment or trouble.