Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-06-2017, 05:41   #1

Boat: 1980 Pearson 323 - 34ft LOA
Women, what do you think about boats being referred to as female?

I've been curious about this for a long time, I suppose the same goes for cars, motorcycles etc.

(Men, please feel free to chime in if you have direct quotes from women.)

theway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2017, 18:25   #2

Boat: Freedom 38
Re: Women, what do you think about boats being referred to as female?

Why? Do you think we get jealous? I did see a boat name the other day called, "Significant Other." Perhaps because I'm a biologist, I have always had a hard time giving cute names to wild animals and so have always felt especially awkward about assigning she/he to inanimate objects. I usually call my boat by its name (Kynntana or K) or just "it" and then only self-consciously will use "she." I think that's because I'm a nerd, though, and not because I'm a woman....
gamayun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2017, 18:41   #3
CF Adviser

Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer

According to my long term partner.
..."it is the only mistress she approves of".
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2017, 19:38   #4
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41

with older styles of boats you can see why they are female or feminine--curvy sweet lines and grace and headstrong, just like a good woman(learned this from the man who taught us sailing). ha ha ha ha ha
and they are the captains mistress.
these traits are not found in either modern women or in modern boats, which are formless straight lines and unappealing to the eye.(also spoken from a male sailing friend)
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2017, 20:22   #5
CF Adviser