Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-04-2013, 00:14   #1

Boat: WTB Lagoon or Leopard 38'-40'
Why through-hulls?

I'm not a nautical engineer, though I am a rocket scientist (I.e. I have a physics degree from a major US university)

Despite that pedigree, though, I have long wanted to pose the question - why through-hulls?

For all the problems they appear to pose, I often wonder how critical they are to a sailboat's operation, and what options have been considered?
- Engine cooling: I've heard enough jellyfish stories that I've developed a deep appreciation for my automobiles closed coolant system
- Toilet system: Boat owners I know close off their sea-water valves in favor of using fresh water. Dead sea critters appear to be a major source of nasty head odors. If I really REALLY want to use sea water in my toilet, I can keep a nice Clorox bottle full in my head next to my "repository"
- What else? If sea water is really critical to any other systems (at this moment only AC comes to mind, which I have no plans to operate while cruising), can't I just PUMP it in without compromising my cheaply built french balsa-cored plastic hull?

Nautical engineers, I humbly await your flames.
ArtM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2013, 00:37   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Why through-hulls?

Engine cooling is a big deal. Automobiles have a radiator and fan, and the outside air for their closed-loop cooling. At home I have a big emergency generator with a fan-cooled radiator and dry-stack exhaust. I sure wouldn't want that noise, space, and heat inside my boat. Instead I use seawater in the heat exchanger. That's one thru-hull.