Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2008, 12:55   #1

Which boat?

I am just beginning to learn about sailing and am trying to plan a trip from Florida to Costa Rica in about 3 years. There is sooooo much information that I need to learn and have been reading tons. I have been looking into boats as well but was wondering what would be the best for that journey. There will be four adults and two children total. Also, when buying a used boat what is the most important things to look for. If anyone could help me, I would really appreciate it. I was also thinking about GPS systems, do they have any that work for land and water? Thanks
aimee0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 13:24   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Welcome to the forum. We have people of all backgrounds and sailing levels. They all meet here and we all help each other.

Guess what the most often asked question is here from new sailors? That would be yours. I'm sorry to say there is no easy answer to your question. The correct boat is like buying a new suit. It has to fit the person (and crew) as well as the occasion. It would be nice if they made only one type and then you would just buy one. It would be nice if we could make a list of all the bad boats so you don't buy one but we can't. It's also about the money. Can you afford 1 million dollars? If not then your choices are limited but not to the point of nothing. You do need to come to terms with finances for the boat, gear, supplies and expenses. So until you get into all of that you still don't know how much you can afford. Picking the boat is best done with more learning behind you and even a little bit of sailing experience.