Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2017, 08:31   #1

WHAT IS A GOOD GENERATOR ??

One that has a heat exchanger and 12volt output as well as 120 volt AC ??? Approximately 4-6 KW---- Don't say MASE!
geoleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 09:47   #2

Boat: Luders 36
Re: WHAT IS A GOOD GENERATOR ??

I am by no means an expert, but pretty sure you are not going to find a marine generator that has both 120ac and 12v. Normally 120 (or 220). Battery charger used to get 12v. There are a few 12v models, then you use inverter to get to 120.
Jman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 12:02   #3

Yes I know-- but a friends trawler Northern Lights 8KW does have a 120+ a 12 volt output-besides if a gen with a alternator that can charge its own battery why cant it also charge a house bank? or is it rocket science
geoleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 12:19   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG

Most generators have a 12v charging circuit intended for the generator's separate battery. The 12 volt circuit isn't intended to quickly charge large banks of semi discharged batteries, except on generators large enough have an alternator.
If you're running the generator, you have ac for your normal charger if the generator is sized correctly.
Don't buy a generator with an air cooled engine.
Lepke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 04:13   #5

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54