Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2014, 16:25   #1

Boat: Catalina 30
What conditions gives experienced sailors pause ?

Hello all, I'm just beginning my sailing education and am looking for personal benchmarks y'all may use to determine whether sailing would be advisable, challenging, or just down right silly.I was going to ,move my newly purchased 1978 Catalina 30 from the marina its presently at to a yard where I'll be hauling out and storing for our ridiculously long Canadian winter. The forecast is a strong wind warning along the coast of Nova Scotia in my area here stipulated as 20 knot winds and seas at 1 to 2 meters. This sounds like nothing too extreme but as I'm still in newbie learn mode I won't bother till it calms. What wind speed and sea height do you experience folks consider mild, medium or extra spicy and perhaps just suicide wing hot sauce?

Sent from my Arc using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Peters Wet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2014, 16:27   #2

Boat: Catalina 30
Re: What conditions gives experienced sailors pause ?

Let me add that you would be in a 30 foot Catalina lol- I'm sure bigger boats eat bad weather for entree's

Sent from my Arc using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Peters Wet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2014, 16:35   #3

Boat: Nantucket Island 33