Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2017, 15:16   #1

Boat: San Juan 21
Wave forecasting - possible?

After reading this thread today, "Heavy weather, can we be honest? ", I have a question. I am new to sailing, so here goes.

Many of the posts mentioned that waves were much more of a problem than wind, and I know of several wind applications that are available.

But, is it possible to forecast what the waves will be? Are there applications for wave prediction? Are there rules of thumb for wave predictions?

I know that NOAA has a buoy database. Is that data just current data, or are there predictions available, also? Anyway, the coverage seems very limited for that database.

Thanks.
Herb Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 15:20   #2

Re: Wave forecasting - possible?

Most marine forecasts will include the wave heights. They will get you in the ballpark.

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 15:42   #3
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

I like Windy (free ap online).
I like its interface design and find it easy to visualize and use the large amount of data it presents.

Here is a link.

At the bottom of the page (when viewed with a browser like Safari) there is a tab for "waves" which shows the projected wave height and period and direction,AND the swell height and period.

If you look at this linked page you should see the Wave data chart below the image of the location (Hatteras).

https://www.windy.com/35.246/-75.410...m:eDTad3t,d:we
Steadman Uhlich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 15:58   #4
Moderator Emeritus