Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2020, 23:14   #1

Using private mooring buoys in BC Canada

Having trouble finding out about private mooring buoys. I've been sailing BC waters for over 10 years but over this time it's now increasingly difficult and in many cases impossible to even safely anchor in places I used to be able to due to all the private mooring buoys. What frustrates me is that many of the private mooring buoys are unoccupied.

What I would like to do is tie up to a private mooring buoy and call the number that legally should be there and check if it's ok?. Is that a reasonable assumption or am I just asking for trouble? How protective are people of their mooring buoys? Looking at comments on other threads it would seem people would like to either sink my boat or set it adrift!

My particular situation at the moment is I want to visit a friend on Mayne island but looking at Google maps the areas suitable for anchoring are full of private mooring buoys - half of which are unoccupied (the one small public dock is full of double rafted boats).

I'm also confused by the legality of it all. A person can have ownership of the physical buoy but the buoy is on crown land which is public? To me it's like putting traffic cones on a public road to reserve a parking spot for whenever they want but no one else can park.
RichardGSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 05:39   #2

Re: Using private mooring buoys in BC Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardGSW View Post