Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-08-2012, 20:07   #1

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
SUGRU - A Miracle for Boaters

Check out this product, it is revolutionary for cruisers :sugru | the exciting new self-setting rubber for making, fixing, and improving your stuff

I have been using it for a couple months and I'm hooked. It's a moldable silicone putty that cures to a relatively hard surface that absorbs shocks, is waterproof, and easily removable. Look at the "hacks", the improvised solutions to problems, that users love to report. I recently used it to cover some nylock nuts on a hatch installation to prevent generating lumps on my head from bumping into the protruding bits. Simply amazing.
Attached Images

Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2012, 21:16   #2

Boat: Com-pac 25
Re: SUGRU, a miracle for boaters

I can already think of a dozen uses for boats, home repair, or even just creating fun stuff. I'd have to give it a try before I'd give it a thumbs up though. Oh, most photos show the bright colors of this stuff, but I did check and it does come in black. They even showed of it for as a way to make a gasket for an engine since it handles a very wide range of temperatures.

The possibilities are endless! But then, there's all too often the wide chasm between marketing and reality. Only one way to find out.

I too would like to hear what others think.
zUrchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2012, 22:32   #3

Boat: Now we need to get her to Louisiana !! she's ours
Re: SUGRU, a miracle for boaters

Don't know about engine gaskets, but it might work really well for those darn bruise makers that almost all boats have !! just my 2 cents
Old 16-08-2012, 02:02   #4
Marine Service Provider

Re: SUGRU - A Miracle for Boaters