Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-05-2020, 09:46   #1

Noise/Vibration with partially furled genoa

Hi, I'm a novice sailor on the SF Bay and I have a (possibly dumb) question about my Harken MKI fuller and genoa. It is a 130% genoa and I typically have it fully closed or fully opened. Yesterday I got caught unexpectedly in 20 knots and was having trouble handling things so I took the genoa in about 50%. The reduced sail area drastically improved things but there was a strange sound/vibration.

When partially extended, at least to the degree I had it yesterday, there was what sounded like a metal can rolling and the entire boat was vibrating. Initially, I thought some anchor chain might be getting rocked around below deck but it became apparent that whatever the source was, it was related to the genoa. Looking upwards, there was nothing that appeared to be rubbing, shaking, nor caught and we couldn't pinpoint the exact source of the sound but I'm wondering if it came from the furling drum.

This does not happen when the genoa is fully extended. I was going downwind on the genoa alone (no main.) I did not adjust the sheet angle -- the sound/vibrations gave me pause and I ended up taking it in rather than play with things and risk potential damage until I better understood the nature of the issue.

Is there something special that needs to be done if not unfurling a genoa fully? If not, is there a maintenance process I can use to rule out potential issues with the furling drum?

I tried searching but I'm at the point where I don't know what I don't know so am not sure what keywords to use. I appreciate any advice or ideas you may be able to share. Thanks!
SeaHarlequin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 09:51   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter