Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2019, 07:48   #1

Newbie Advice / experience

Hello all. I'm a newbie located on the greater Moncton are of New Brunswick, with a long-term goal of purchasing a boat and retiring to a liveaboard lifestyle (who wouldn't dream of such right ). My short term goals are take a week long course this winter season, combining a vacation and obtaining ASA 101/103/104. Hop on with someone from the crewbay community for an extended passage anywhere in the North East / Caribbean areas.

My question is, I have very little sailing experience, with moderate amount of power boat experience (all inshore). I've done the typical tourist harbour cruise etc, but wondering about a bit more of a "salty" experience before I book a course or hop on a mainland to Bermuda (etc...) passage. Being in the Moncton area, I am only a few hours or less from the ports of Saint John NB, Shediac NB, Summerside PEI, Charlottetown PEI, or Halifax NS. Is anyone aware of any full day experiences (further then a harbour cruise) OR any private sailors looking for some company who would be willing to take someone out and not necessarily "teach" but explain what and why they are doing what they are doing when they do it.

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions!
medic6340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 08:54   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Newbie Advice / experience

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, medic.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 09:18   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler