Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2010, 06:31   #1

New Hopeful Sailor

I am a current law student deciding to become a sailor! I have 5,000 and live in florida. would either of these boats work to quit law school and learn to sail around the caribbean? I have no idea how to sail, will probably coast it for awhile to figure it out and try bartering for lessons. If anyone has advice would be great- negative advice not needed! I am sailing out! I dont have a boat yet, but these are what I am looking at! I am trying to stay below 3,500

1978 TANZER 22' SAIL BOAT or 1978 North American Sloop Weekender
-Adjustable swing keel/ kick up rudder and tiller
-21 Ft. fiberlass hull, no leaks or soft spots
jer033044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 06:45   #2

Boat: Gulfstar 53 - Osiris
You need to study the old thread "Cruising on $500/mo" or otherwise known as the minimalist cruising thread. There is a lot of good information there.
- - Living on the boat is not a major problem, even a 22 footer for a single male although it will definitely crimp your style when it comes to shacking up.
- - There are many vibrant and small live aboard communities of young and old folks in the Florida Keys and South Florida. However, it is becoming difficult to find an area close to the "action" that has not been pressured out of existence by local condo/home owners. You just have to be creative in locating them.
- - Living anywhere, land or water, requires some source of income for keeping up your boat so that it is not classified as a derelict and then the officials start making your life miserable.