Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 16:23   #1

Boat: Challenger Anacapa 42
New Cruising and Sailing DVDs...

Hello all! I'm a filmmaker, and I'd love to get your input on something. In a nutshell; What would YOU like to see in cruising videos? I own a bunch, and quite frankly most are bad or worse...

Would you like to see the basics...the common everyday anchoring, docking, navigation and sailing that make up a passage? Nature and the natural world opened up by cruising? Different landfalls and harbors? Scary, dangerous mistakes? Mini-lessons? Advanced planning? Refit demonstrations? Boat repair in beautiful surroundings?

I'd love to hear all your thoughts. Both young and old, beginner and old salt like to watch shows about our favorite subject...but most of todays DVDs are severely lacking in production values and content.

One last question; if a DVDs description sounded interesting to you, how much would you pay? I think the current rate of $19.95 to $29.95 is ridiculously high. What would an hour of enjoyable viewing be worth to you?

Thanks for your time, Christian Van Horn

Here's to swimmin' with bowlegged women!
Christian Van H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 17:17   #2

Boat: Beneteau First 42
In the mid-1980's Gary Jobson and a group of pal's and investors launched a Video Magazine under the banner "Sailing Quarterly" featuring "magazine articles" in video format sold to subscribers.