Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-12-2006, 17:29   #1

Boat: Looking for a new boat
mooring

I am new to sailing and am thinking of buying a boat. I live in a city and have been looking around for ways of getting a mooring but have been left high and dry by the all mighty interweb (the net). Can someone tell me what the deal is with getting a permanent mooring in a major american city? Do I have to sink my own? Do I rent one from someone? Is it a competitive market? What is the deal when cruising, do you have to advance a visitor's mooring or can you just pick up whatever is free in the harbour and stay there? Why is there a lack of resources on this sort of thing?
unbusted67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2006, 17:43   #2

Boat: Jeanneau SO 49
It depends on what town,city, state you are in. Generally there are marinas nearby that set moorings to the specific requirements of the local harbor commission.
I have a small mooring business in Old Saybrook, CT and when I rent or set a mooring system for my clients it has to be inspected by the dock master who is in charge of overseeing the placement of the mooring.

Try to find out the harbor master, dock master or harbor commissioner from the town or city hall that has jurisdication over the waterway.

There are also fees for permits to the town, when placing moorings into their waterways.

Feel free to ask me for more info if you need it.
Old 15-12-2006, 18:01   #3

Well Okay, thanks for the fast reply! I live in Boston. Do areas run out of moorings. I know for example that there is a 5 year waiting list in Schituate Harbour.
Old 15-12-2006, 18:35   #4
Kai Nui