Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2023, 11:19   #1

Boat: Endeavour 32
Mister Vee windvanes

Is this the right forum?

What’s the skinny on these? The price and bulk of the hardware are very enticing.

https://windvaneselfsteering.com/
SY Harmony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2023, 02:41   #2

Re: Mister Vee windvanes

No one?
Old 19-03-2023, 04:14   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cape George 31

Just from browsing the site, the hardware looks pretty light-duty, given the forces an auxiliary-rudder type windvane sees. I'm not sure the place to save weight is in steering hardware, given that the entire boat has to be turned by that rudder, and the mounting hardware has to transfer the load to the boat.
Old 19-03-2023, 06:42   #4

Boat: CA 34

I have had some experience with the Mister Vee self-steering gear and while it appears to be lightly constructed it's actually quite bombproof.

As it happens, it is not an auxiliary-rudder system but a servo-pendulum self-steerinthat that was inspired by the Walt Murray self-steering website.

I'd compare the Mister Vee gears to the tried and true Navik self-steering and will work well with any boat in the niche the Navik did/does.

The upside down wind vane is a huge improvement over what anyone else is using. Factor in the cost and performance savings and it just may be the best deal around.

The only downside I see to the Mr Vee gears is their production schedule which means you have order within a certain time window instead of just buying one.

Anyway, all in all, a very good gear.
Old 19-03-2023, 08:06   #5

Boat: 1999 Hunter 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benz View Post