Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2015, 12:06   #1

Boat: '83 Endeavour 40
Mast height - measured from where?

So don't bash me, I'm still learning.

The manufacturer specs the mast as 54' 5.25" DWL

It is keel stepped.

So is the 54' and change measured from the waterline???
From the keel???
Or from the coach roof???

It must be waterline, right? But that number can vary depending on weight in the hull.

And if that's the case, how do I find out the length of my sail track? Go aloft with a tape measure?
Old 13-03-2015, 12:11   #2

Re: Mast height - measured from where?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liunatic View Post
So don't bash me, I'm still learning.

The manufacturer specs the mast as 54' 5.25" DWL

It is keel stepped.

So is the 54' and change measured from the waterline???
From the keel???
Or from the coach roof???

It must be waterline, right? But that number can vary depending on weight in the hull.

And if that's the case, how do I find out the length of my sail track? Go aloft with a tape measure?
Depends on what the measurement is to be used for. New sails? Clearing a bridge? Bragging about the length of your stick?
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2015, 12:29   #3

Wrong -

Looking to replace the sail track is what prompted the question, but, yeah, I suppose confidence in clearing a bridge would come in handy

No need to brag about the length of the stick, as it's the motion of the ocean that gets me there (said the female half of the Liunatic team)
Old 13-03-2015, 12:49   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liunatic View Post
Wrong -