Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-11-2021, 09:00   #1

Boat: Cal 39 MKII
Looking for Advice on AIS Transmitters

I have been cruising with an AIS receiver since 2011. After this last season on the Maine Coast - nearly got run down by a 48 ft. catamaran in the fog going 12 knots that was only using AIS to look for boats, I realized that transmitting is getting to be required from a safety perspective. I have an older Raymarine system (two E80's) that I am very happy with for navigation and my receiver is a Standard Horizon VHF/AIS radio. I have been looking up transmitters and transceivers and have found a few under $800, but would love some input as to what other cruisers are using as transmitters on their boats. Would like to spend in the $500 range if possible (Si-Tex Metadata Class B, Vesper XB-6000, Em-Trak A100 are examples).
Thanks for your help
epoxyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2021, 10:24   #2

Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Re: Looking for Advice on AIS Transmitters

We’ve got an em-trak b350. It’s an sotdma b transponder. Less expensive than others, and works just fine. More than the transponder your antenna makes the difference. Ours is a dedicated antenna on the mizzen masthead
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2021, 10:38   #3

Boat: Hans Christian 41T

I went with the Vesper Cortex M1. It adds another VHF radio, does the job of GPS, AIS, and does anchor watch with notifications. Really good support, too. It is pricey, but it does a lot of cool things that I wanted to be able to do.

Steve
swhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2021, 10:46   #4

Boat: Morgan Out Island 41