Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2023, 06:41   #1

Lobster pots and ways to avoid them

I am planning a sail from Nova Scotia in late Spring when the waters are filled with lobster pots. Other than traveling inch by inch, can anyone suggest ways to avoid them and obviously the lobster fisher folks' wrath? One thought and I have no experience with them is the use of forward seeking sonar.

Ideas?
tfliveright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2023, 06:48   #2

Boat: 50ft Custom Fast Catamaran
Re: Lobster pots and ways to avoid them

By eye in the daylight.

At night? By hope and prayer.

There is no avoiding them, other than to know they are in the more shallow, coastal areas.

They are less often in main thoroughfares as well, since they don’t want to lose the float, toggle and rope to the many props going through.

However, there are even a few right in the channel sometimes.

Just have spurs installed or a knife at the ready in case one gets on your rudder or prop. You can usually pull it with a boat hook enough to cut it if you can’t get it off.

You can sometimes also unwind it from the prop in reverse after cutting. Lots of seaweed gets stuck on the prop too in those areas and needs to be unwound.

Oh yeah. Bring a mask too, in case you really get it wrapped on the prop.

Despite the suckiness of the commercial fishing gear, it’s a great area. Absolutely beautiful
Chotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2023, 06:51   #3

Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49