Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2020, 18:00   #1

Is Volunteering as crew to get experience a realistic plan? (for me)

I am trying to come up with a plan to move myself forward (sailing wise) to the point where boat ownership and ocean cruising is a feasible possibility. One idea is volunteering as crew to get some experience and learn by doing. But I have little to no experience at this point. (I love sailing but other than one summer where I crewed once a week for a guy who raced on a local lake (26' sailboat) I only have experience dinghy sailing. I have a sunfish)

I am a 50 year old male (thinking most people looking for this kind of thing are probably significantly younger). I think I have a lot to offer, I am fit, in good health, and my life to date has left me with what I think is a very well rounded skill set (just not much sailing) for the next few years I am only able to do something like this from say November To March as outside of that window my career wont allow me time to do so. But that kind of works for the sailing season anyway.

In your opinion if someone in my shoes was to offer my services for a month or so at a time (I am flexible with the month thing but I am a long way from the water so to get there for just a few days here and there doesn't make $ sense)

Do you think those needing crew would be interested in me or am I kidding myself. Is this something worth pursuing in your opinion.

please be brutally honest with me. your not going to hurt my feelings ( I will let you know if you do)
Debmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 18:04   #2