Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 12:33   #1

Boat: 41' Tartan TOCK
Ideas for Hiring Crews and Choosing Crews

We have a solo sailing friend who has hired crew in the past and had a bad experience. He didn't realize his crew member was schizophrenic until after they were underway... among many other problems He is planning a trip to the South Pacific next year. We would like him to consider taking crew. I am trying to get as much information as I can to talk him into it.
I want to know how do you choose good crew members?
What are the most common problems with hiring crew?
Is there an online site with answers to specific questions?
How do you know what to pay a crew member or is it food only?
And there are probably more questions... I'm just getting started.

I hope this is the right place to ask this question. I went to the Crew tab, but that looks like people just looking for and hiring... not assisting. Thanks for shedding any light.
s/v Hotspur
hotspur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 13:11   #2

Re: Ideas for Hiring Crews and Choosing Crews

I learned from a friend that you do not just take any qualified crew. Only take someone who adds something to the experience. Take someone you've sailed with before. Someone you know. Spend a great amount of time among sailors and cruisers...at a yacht club or cruising destination. That's my rule.
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 13:21   #3
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"

There are reputable crew agencies based in Ft Lauderdale, USA and Palma de Mallorca, Spanish Balearics.

crew from these agencies will have proper references and experience.

They won't be free.

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy