Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2017, 08:12   #1

Forum Restructure

Please move this post to the appropriate place.

CF can be and in fact is a value resource of information including the experience of a lot of sailors with a whole lot of knots under their keels.

It's also a site where complete noobs and dreams show up with all manner of questions... understandably so... a captive audience of savy salts... why not?

Many salts with will pop up answers usually reading the noob the news to do their own homework... take classes.. read books...magazines, visit boat shows and boat yards and so on.

Years ago... more than 3 decades I got the bug to sail.... but there was not www and CF... Learning the art and science of sailing seems an insurmountable task. But I used what was available to me at the time....

I bought and read all the sailing magazines. I bought and read a whole slew of books about sailing, cruising, sailing physics and theory... I took classes in coastal navigation, meteorology celestial navigation and of course a hands on learn to sail course. I went to all the boat shows I could from Annapolis to Newport... I devoured publications like Practical Sailor. I spent a good 2 or 3 years in solid immersion to learn anything and everything I could about sailboats. I had one friend... who had a boat... my best friend and he suffered through thousands of my questions... But I was also able to help him with my cabinet maker and manuals skills to the point where he suggested we partner in a big sailboat.... which I could operate for sure. He assured me he would teach me and the two of us could handle the 48' boat.