Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2022, 11:11   #1

Boat: Islander MK-2
deep doo doo....boat is grounded....

Hi all,
I'm new to sailing. Just bought my boat this year. I'm up in Sodus Bay, NY on Lake Ontario. I had my 30' Islander delivered to the bay in July and cruised it over to my marina. I didn't get a good slip because, in late July, the slips worth having are gone. I ended up with a slip that the marina said would handle my 5' draft. Lake Ontario has dropped almost 11" and is still dropping. I'm now sitting on my keel in my slip. I need to get out of that slip, cross the bay, and get to a new marina for winter storage. If I can get about 200' i'll definitely be in water deep enough to motor through. It's getting that first 200' that I don't know what to do with. I've talked with BoatUS and they won't do it because it too shallow for their boat and honestly, I can't believe it's going to cost me $1500 to get this boat moved 200'. Any ideas?
PinkHemiCoronet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2022, 11:23   #2

Boat: Chris Craft 381 Catalina
Re: deep doo doo....boat is grounded....

Have you measured how much water you're actually in right now? A quick search says your boat is a fin keel, so depending on how far into the mud the keel is and how soft the mud, weeds, etc. you're sitting in is, it may be possible to just power the boat out or have someone help with another boat and get it pulled out of the mud.
rslifkin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2022, 11:26   #3

Boat: Farr 50 Pilothouse