Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2016, 20:36   #1

Complete Newby

Hello all,
Straight to the point, I am a 53 year old who has never sailed (as the "captain"), but has been on a few sailboats. I have owned many powerboats (17'-32') in various conditions and know my way around boats. However, I have always had a dream of coastal sailing from NC to the Keys. Now that I am 10-12 years away from retirement, I am ready begin laying the groundwork for my dream. I am currently enrolled in an Adult beginner class at a yacht club. My questions are: should I buy a small 15'-17' boat to practice or a larger 18'-22' (The yacht club uses 22' Catalina's for class). I live on a lake in East Tennessee and there are sailboats that sail, but not everyday because of lack of wind. Any ideas or suggestions? Eventually I would sale the practice boat and buy the boat to coastal cruise with. So, my last question: what are some coastal cruising boats (single hand) and what size (wife will be with me) to be researching (because of course, I need to spend countless wife-eye-rolling hours online looking at boats). Keep in mind due to my geographic location, it will need to be a trailer sailor (yes, I just heard the "old salts" groan). I do not have a fortune spend up front, so a older boat that needs some work (I have a few years to work on her) is what I am interested in. Thanks for any and all advice given!
Old 13-07-2016, 20:46   #2

Boat: Tinker Traveller...a dozen feet of bluewater awesomeness!
Re: Complete Newby

Since you've had a 32-foot powerboat, I'm going to assume you know something about boat systems- electrical, plumbing, etc..
With a small boat, you won't have all the same sailing gizmos, i.e., winches, but you'll have most of them, just in a more easily managed dimension.