Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2008, 15:34   #1

Chartering a boat with minimum experience

Hello,
I was curious if anyone has chartered a boat with little experience. Im thinking of chartering a boat in BVI for a week. Only problem, is I have very little sailing experience, but I'm no strangers to power boats. I am a bit concerned that the charter company would rent me the boat but they say the sailing is really easy and everthing is line of site. What say the experts on the board??
Floyd94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 15:54   #2
cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Floyd94 View Post
Hello,
I was curious if anyone has chartered a boat with little experience. Im thinking of chartering a boat in BVI for a week. Only problem, is I have very little sailing experience, but I'm no strangers to power boats. I am a bit concerned that the charter company would rent me the boat but they say the sailing is really easy and everthing is line of site. What say the experts on the board??
I say go for it.

Just use it like a power boat in the harbor, then when you get out where there is room, try putting the sailing theory you have read to use. We all had to start at one point. You probably won't mess up anything on the charter boat if you are careful to practice sailing in light winds (under 10 knots the first day)

Remember that by the dock, it will behave like a trawler with a long skeg/keel. No going sideways and in circles with it unless it's a cat, or has a bow thruster.
ssullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 17:31   #3