Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2016, 23:35   #1

Charter Boat to Bluewater Crusier

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here,

SORRY this is going to be a bit of a vague question(s). I'm looking at buying a charter boat, something around 40" and 10 years old or so.

If I wanted to set it up for blue water cruising ie: crossing the pacific, what are the essential lacking from a typical charter boat?

And roughly how much would they cost?

Any advice would be great appreciated,

Thanks in advance,

Rob
dazed321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2016, 23:49   #2

Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Re: Charter Boat to Bluewater Crusier

It's very broad indeed, but a typical charter boat will be a coastal cruising design with a basic sail plan. It will usually have more cabins and heads than actually needed for cruising and may lack additional equipment such as mfd, autopilot, ais, radar, ssb, wind gen, solar panels, watermaker, genset, dinghy davits, etc as charter companies tend to keep these boats as simple to operate as possible and the owners get to buy a cheaper boat as a result. The motors will also be inclined to have heaps of hours on them as a result of battery charging practices and lot's of motoring from anchorage to anchorage.

Sent from my SGP521 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2016, 23:50   #3

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!

Hi Rob, & welcome.