Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2017, 15:47   #1

Boat: Beneteau First 41s5
Chart plotter

I'm having a new Chart Plotter installed today. I'm new to cruising and unsure where to have it mounted. At the helm or at the nav station.
Your input is appreciated.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 15:56   #2

Boat: X-Yachts, X-512, 51.2
Re: Chart plotter

If you haven't a repeater, and you are mainly single hand, better at the helm.
stevenit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 16:03   #3

Boat: Beneteau First 41s5

Thank you. I can't afford a repeater so I will mount the chatplotter at the helm and use my tablet at the nav station ?
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 16:03   #4

I don't stand at the helm because I use an AP... A helm plotter would only work if I and driving from the helm. I have a plotter mounted on the coach roof under the dodger where I sit (out of sun and rain) where I can reach the AP controls.

I have a permanent mount plotter at the nav station which I rarely actually spend much eyeball time with.
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 16:24   #5

Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m

+1 for at the helm. Then it's in front of you when you are steering because you need too - coastal, harbor entrances, traffic etc. Once you've had one at the helm, you wont go back! Two is better, or course, but one at the helm with wifi to a tablet below is good too.
Old 04-04-2017, 16:25   #6

Boat: Outbound 44

I'm with Sandero. If you are making passages then put the chart plotter where you do your watch. For me that's under the dodger beside the companionway.
Old 04-04-2017, 16:40   #7

Boat: 53' Amel Super Maramu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post