Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 17:39   #1

Boat: Montgomery 23 Cutter
Anchoring

So, I graduated from a home-made 8-foot Phil Bolger catboat ("Nymph") to my new Montgomery 23 Offshore Cutter. I've been sailing the Cutter since last fall and, in preparation for some cruising (as opposed to my day-sailing), I went out today with the intention of learning how to anchor. I did not set any sails and went out under motor, put the little diesel in neutral and let the boat settle down, wanting to see how it points (or doesn't).

With no sails up, she wants to lie with the bow about 120 - 150 degrees off the wind. I made one attempt to lower the anchor off the windward side of the bow (a 7lb Danforth with double the recommended chain) and the line really payed out rather fast as the boat drifted down-wind.

I wondered, "hmmmm, should I be setting the anchor off the stern?"...and I halted my anchor-deploying for the day and went back to the books. The common wisdom appears to be that deploying the primary anchor off the stern is a supremely bad idea. OK I get that.

So, by myself in windy conditions, I should deploy the anchor from the bow and let the natural drift of the boat set the hook? I can tie the anchor off at the bow and then make my way to the cockpit, at which point I can motor and try to get the nose into the wind...or just let (hope) the anchor bite which should get the bow pointed into the wind.

That sound right?

In calm conditions, I should be able to lower the anchor off the bow, return to the cockpit and set the anchor by gently motoring in reverse.

Comments/Advice appreciated.

Jerry W
Kinsale Marina
off the lower Potomac
JerryW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 17:53   #2

Re: Anchoring