Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2013, 02:48   #1

Arrow A Sailing Trip

So i'm planning on making a sailing journey to Europe from MA, and then from Europe to Cairo, Egypt but i'm an amateur at boating so i'd like to know exactly what i would need in order to do this. I want to know what the best boat to use would be, either motor only or sailboat, etc. and i want a boat that can house at least 8 people. I plan on leaving from the east coast from Massachusetts and heading towards angra do heroiso and stopping there to refill for the journey, and then heading to europe from there. Then from europe i plan on going to Alexandria, Egypt and from there heading down the nile to Cairo, Egypt which will be my final destination. Anyone mind helping me figure out the best and safest route, best boat options, and anything else i'll need like equipment, any legal papers etc for the journey? Thanks!

And by legal papers i meant, Would i need any papers or applications to sail outside the U.S. to europe? and stuff like that.
solerom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2013, 03:38   #2

Boat: SAGA 27 AK
Re: A sailing trip

Search threads before asking such a big question, you'll be surprised how much good data is already in here from previously asked questions.
Old 13-06-2013, 03:57   #3

An amateur and you are attempt this? I would say you need about minimum of 5 years of study and experience to take this on. Maybe more.
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2013, 04:10   #4

Boat: Pearson 424 Ketch
Get a copy of this book and read it cover to cover. It will be a good starting point on your journey.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/0071437657
Paul Lefebvre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2013, 04:15   #5

Boat: Bristol 27

Quote: