Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2020, 03:54   #1
Ktz

Boat: Lagoon 380, Lagoon 450, Dufour 525
65ft aluminum mono vs 50ft cat

Hello everyone!

I have been an owner of both multihulls up to 45ft and monohulls up to 54ft doing mainly coastal cruising.

Now, I am about to buy a bluewater boat and start a round-the-world trip with my girlfriend and friends occasionally. I probably will do a trade wind circumnavigation, but of course I prefer not having limitations regarding the cruising grounds and courses.

My budget for the boat can be around 1M$. I am studying all types of boats for many years, I have quite a lot of sailing experience but still, I am not sure which is the best for the trip.

In that budget, I could buy a new St. Francis 50 which IMO is one of the most well-designed and balanced liveaboard cats. Or a used aluminum monohull like Nordia 65' which is listed right now, with an Amel-like dodger and steering position but with higher specs.

I generally consider the St Francis 50 a safer and more rational choice for many reasons but the idea of a big monohull of this quality is also appealing, although maintenance, handling and resale will be probably harder.
I know they are totally different but I think you might have equal level of comfort and safety in these two.
What's your opinion?

https://www.yachtworld.co.uk/core/li...&Ntt=nordia+65
Ktz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 10:28   #2

Boat: Shuttleworth Advantage
Re: 65ft aluminum mono vs 50ft cat

If you are even remotely interested in a St Francis 50 then contact Paul
http://www.suliere.com

https://cobrokerage.boatsgroupwebsit...t=1&parent=474
Tupaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 10:28   #3

Boat: Morgan Moorings 50

I'm not a cat guy so I'll give my opinion: