Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 10:25   #1

Boat: None yet
Where to Sail to from Connecticut?

Hi all-

Boatless newbie here. I grew up daysailing out of CT in a 20 foot open hulled sailboat, sunfish and trailered catamarans. I did a little larger boat sailing a few years ago.

I am now settled in the New Haven CT area and am interested in sailing again and eventually buying a boat.

My first question is what do people in this part of the country do on their sailboats on an average weekend or day besides racing?

I know about block island and have been to Fishers island once by plane.

Aside from longer trips to Nantucket or the Vineyard, what does one do with a sailboat in one day? Cruise along the coast to sightsee? Cruise out to the sound and then back?

Sorry for such a vague question! I am trying to get a handle on what a typical sailing season might entail (so i can sell it to my landlubber wife).

Thanks all in advance.
Chad
cgroshart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:04   #2

Boat: finally a catamaran dive boat...
Send a message via MSN to cdennyb Send a message via Skype™ to cdennyb
Tell her you bought a 40'er and are headed to the Bahamas in a month and to get the provisioning list started. THAT should wake her up... LoL
Old 04-01-2010, 16:51   #3

Boat: 34 Sabre Tempest
Well, you can follow the ferry boats over to Port Jefferson and back...Port Jeff is a cool town imo. Lots of moorings a great overnight or weekend spot.
Old 04-01-2010, 17:41   #4

Boat: Pearson 424, 42' - Kismet
Hi Chad,