Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 17:02   #1

Boat: Leopard 42 - JAMU
SW FL, Crystal River and South

We'll be resuming our cruise of SW FL and South, departing the Withlacoochee River in early March. I'm studying the charts, guides, Active Captain etc. to consider every possible anchorage. Crystal River is a potential first stop, we would like to visit the Manatees, but I'm concerned that it might just be too shallow. The First Mate and I are on our Leopard 42 catamaran with 4'6" draft, 23' beam and 65' mast height. Yes, she's a bit broad and tall for up-river or ICW, but we managed to enjoy cruising her along MS, AL and FL to this point, going offshore as warranted. I'd appreciate current local knowledge about the Crystal River, and opinions on taking her up as far as Pete's Pier.
JamuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 17:42   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
SW FL, Crystal River and South

There are quite a few tour operators that specialize in Manatee tours. Having said that the closest we got to them and best interactions were at the motel's dock where we stayed. I only know of the river itself, not the approach from the gulf etc., but the parts of it I'm familiar with, your way too big for. I don't know of Pete's pier, sorry. You have wet suits and mask, fins and snorkel? SCUBA is a waste of time for this and the noise seems to run them off too.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 17:44   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: SW FL, Crystal River and South

For Manatee sight seeing now is better than March, the come up river seeking warmer water in winter, but leave as soon as the gulf begins to warm up
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote