Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2015, 09:32   #1

Boat: Cheoy Lee, Luders 36
Single Hand? Is it possible?

Hey everybody,
My first post and questions? I am retiring and looking to buy a sailboat. In my previous younger life I built sailboats and lived aboard for a year. Have dreamed of returning to the sailing life. Now is the time. I have some questions for those experienced.
1. Going to be solo, until I meet the right woman.
2. Looking at 35-37' boats, monohull, full-keel.
Goal is to buy in the NE, take the Atlantic coastalway down to Florida and cross gulfstream there to Bahamas.

???Is it feasible to do this solo? If not, can certainly find friends to join me. Is it feasible to handle that size boat solo? Is it safe/feasible to sail the islands solo?
I appreciate any feedback. I hear alot of stories both pro-con about it. But, I want an adventure and warm weather.
Thanks,
John
Sailsarefull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 09:44   #2

Re: Single Hand? Is it possible?

Sure. Learn how to use a midship spring line for docking and you're there.

Docking 101 DOCKING 101 -- Mid Ship Cleat and Aft Spring [includes a link in Reply #1 to a very good single handed topic]

Single Handing 101 single handing

Single Handing 101.1 Midship Cleats Pictures Midship cleat PHOTOS / Flix

Safe journey, fair winds.
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 09:44   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Single Hand? Is it possible?

Of course it is.. just take things easy till you get the feel of her.. how she handles under sail and motor.. which way she kicks in reverse.. how far to lose way etc etc...
You'll have a ball..