Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2009, 20:34   #1

Next Charter After BVI ?

I am relatively new to sailing (born and raised in Ohio) but have done some training and a few short trips. Last winter we did a one week charter in the BVI and had a great time. My wife would say that I am somewhere between hooked and addicted. Unfortunately we had to return home to work and family. We are planning a trip for this winter (Jan or Feb). I would like to "take the next step" so to speak after the BVIs. However, it is my wife's vacation also so I don't want to push so hard that she does not enjoy herself. We will have another couple with us and will have one week. We don't have any specific priorities other than some sailing, relaxation and nice anchorages. What suggestions does anyone have on where to go next? Thanks

Fred
simfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 20:44   #2

Why do you want "the next step"? You had a great time in the BVI's despite your lack of experience. I'd go back to the BVI's before trying somewhere else, but the windwards and Leewards are great, once you get more experience.
speedoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 21:08   #3

To speedoo,

I suppose my only answer to your question is: Life is short and there are many places I have not been. Although I clearly did not see everything the BVIs have to offer, it is appealing to go someplace entirely new.
Old 01-07-2009, 21:16   #4

Boat: Beneteau 32.5
What do you want to get out of cruising? That (in addition to cost) will drive your destination.