Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 11:55   #1
RDW

Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
New York City for the 4th of July?

I am relatively new to sailing. I will be taking my boat from Chesapeake Bay to Maine. I have thought about trying to visit New York City on the 4th of July on the way. I have done the trip north to south last year without stopping in New York. Am I foolish? If I can not get a slip, would anyone consider anchoring out in that area just to see the Macy's fireworks?
rdw
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 12:19   #2

Boat: McGregor venture 15 "IMP"
Many many people make the same trip. Several anchor out because of necessity. The marinas do fill up. I don't know where the macy's fireworks are shot from, but I am certain that you could find a good spot to anchor. There is a lot of traffic though.
Spencer
Old 04-01-2010, 15:11   #3

Boat: Tartan 27' - 'Odalisque'
RDW,
Since I live in NYC I am a bit jaded about the fireworks displays that happen here but they are pretty memorable if you have never seen them before. I also prefer to watch the fireworks safely from shore and would not consider taking my boat out on NY Harbor on a night like that.
That said, the one marina that I think will accept an advance pre-paid transient slip for that weekend is Liberty Landing Marina - it is a bit pricey though. I am just not sure how much in advance you would need to book it. NYC Parks operates some moorings on the Hudson which are about $40/night too.