Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-11-2021, 12:26   #1

Boat: Hallberg Rassy 49
New England to Bahamas in April

I am in my 3rd year of owning a larger sailboat and want to get more ocean miles under my belt. Am considering a spring voyage from Newport to Harbour Island in the Bahamas. Then onto FL and coastal hops up the coast to bring her back to E-LIS. I've done about 3K offshore miles as watch captain and have done a ton of keelboat racing. Last year, I sailed my previous boat (outside Cape Cod) to Maine which had me >60 miles offshore at times. Have also crossed the Gulf Stream about two dozen times on family and friends boats.

Nonetheless, I have a lot to learn. This would be a warmup to next year's planned trip to the Leeward Islands.

Boat is a well outfitted HR49 with recent major refit. She is now on the hard in MA and needs some work which should be done by March.

My plan would include using a weather routing service and bringing one or two professionals onboard for the trip south. Straight shot or coastal hopping are options and TBD.

Thots, suggestions or other comments welcome.
Student_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2021, 16:26   #2

Boat: temporarily boatless...
Re: New England to Bahamas in April