Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 15:41   #1

New Cruiser to Exuma, Georgetown

I am new to cruising the Bahamas but have heard some talk and see some threads here about Georgetown and it sounds like a great destination and a good place to use as a base for shorter trips.

I am on a tight budget (401k is now 201k), but I love to sail and would like to spend some time around Exuma and I was wondering how the harbour and services work at Georgetown. General questions, such as how do I get fresh water, waste disposal, where to get basic provisions and in-expensive food?

I lead a simple life and would like to supplement a basic diet, and plan to catch fish and also harvest fruit and herbs from deserted, public Cays.
Old 11-10-2010, 15:48   #2

Pier,

A few questions:
  • Do you typically pump your waste out in local harbors?
  • What fruits do you plan on harvesting?
  • You sound like you are on a very tight budget. You may want to stockpile funds for another year or more so that you can live better and be more of a financial contributor.
  • Do sail exclusively or do you use fuel?
  • Will you be purchasing beverages / food?
Old 11-10-2010, 15:54   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, PierPressure.

Don't mind Kill, he's got a bee in his bonnet.

Old 11-10-2010, 16:00   #4

Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Phew!! thanks Gord.
Old 11-10-2010, 16:03   #5

• I am a respectful boater and comply with local rules regarding pumping out of waste.
  • I am not sure what fruits grow wild on the island, perhaps pineapple
  • I believe that you only live once and waiting for a year may result in me never actually doing this trip.