Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-12-2016, 11:48   #1

Need Advice - Jacksonville > Port St Lucie

Helping a friend deliver a Tartan 27 from Jacksonville to Port St Lucie in mid-January.

I've got some offshore / coastal experience in Florida, most notably doing a similar trip in reverse (Fort Lauderdale > Jacksonville) in April 2010.

My rough plan from Jax is to head SSE, clear the red can off Cape Canaveral and then head back toward the St. Lucie inlet.

Any weather advice on taking the offshore route? Avoid north-easterlies, especially near the Gulf Stream - what else? Anyone sail this in favorable conditions? Happy to motor it too, if it means I can avoid the ICW.

If weather is bad, I'll take the ditch.

Thanks in advance.
crishaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2016, 12:39   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Retired Delivery Capt
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
Re: Need Advice - Jacksonville > Port St Lucie

I hate the ICW and try to avoid it whenever possible.

But a delivering a T-27- southbound? I would stay inside.

Somethings to ponder. Look at the charts, look how far out you need to get clear of the GS. Then consider the idea that your are no going south and crossing the GS at St Lucie, but instead bucking it by heading SSE.

The next option is to be inside until the Cape and then duck in and out of inlets. The risk there is you are taking a smaller boat, with an engine you don't know in and out inlets. Not prudent.