Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2013, 07:45   #46

Boat: Beneteau First 42
Re: Extortion in Nassau

Quote:
Originally Posted by Three Sheets View Post
... @HyLyte - we have seawater in all four cylinders. Both insurance and Yanmar want to pull the engine and survey for cause. Because we needed to coordinate multiple parties to survey the cause and associated failure, not to mention possibly replace the engine, logistically it was made sense to come back to the states. ....
Wow! That's a pretty spectacular failure.

Coincidentally, not long ago there was another member who posted about a similar problem/failure with a Yanmar Engine and indicated that on his/her new boat, they had already gone through two engines due to such failures. I am not very good with the Search function but perhaps another member, such as GordMay, who seems to be the search Guru around here, can find that thread for you and you can reach the other member to see how/if they resolved the matter. (Frankly, I'm glad we have a boring old semi-oil drippy Perkins that always run without difficulty).

N'any case I do hope you get the whole business sorted out without much cost/grief!
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2013, 07:45   #47
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Quote:
Our vessel is only 5 years old and we want to get to the bottom of this quickly and hopefully at no additional cost to us (based on insurance or warranty). The engine will be pulled next week, but we've had people here every day looking at it since we returned.