Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2017, 02:47   #1

Boat: PERRY 43 PASSAGEMAKER
pirate delivery skipper wanted

Buying a Lagoon 440 in Greece, need a delivery skipper to help me take the boat from Greece to Martinique anytime after October 2017, preferably on the ARC in November. I am a AMSA Master <35 metres offshore with 30 years experience on motor vessels up 100nm offshore and 2 years full time on a 54ft cruising ketch monohull all around Australia. Also crewed on 4 Sydney to Hobarts in the 70s, got seasick on the last one and was never asked to crew again. Have not crossed an ocean and no experience sailing a catamaran.

Need a rough idea of costs but be gentle it's my first time.

Cheers
Popeye46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 03:43   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: delivery skipper wanted

Your looking at the possibility of a rough passage from Greece to Gibraltar that time off year.. from mid to late September weather starts getting bad in the Med..
Depending on whether your looking at a quick delivery or a more leisurely trip, which the ARC would entail.. upto a couple of weeks in the Canaries setting up the boat to meet ARC requirements etc.. if your able to get her there in time.. I may be interested.
I normally work to a fixed price based on mileage plus expense's so.. while I do not push a boat and crew to and beyond their limits... I do not like to just sit around, as each day wasted reduces my income.
Should however you be prepared to pay an agreed rate for days in port after say 48hrs that are not delays due to weather related reasons I could be interested in the job.