Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2009, 08:55   #1

Boat: Coronado 25
Send a message via Yahoo to BubbleHeadMd
Dare I? (Chesapeake Bay)

So...I've brought my Coronado 25 home to it's berth, walking distance from my house. I've been reading everything I can get my hands on, but I haven't taken a sailing course yet and I probably won't be able to take one with a "hands-on" portion until Spring.

I am NOT new to boats or the water. I'm versed on Inland rules of the road, I know the local laws, I know to file a sailing plan, check the weather, pack emergency supplies, etc. I'm just new to wind propulsion.

The boat's engine is nearly brand-new, I have cell phones and a marine band radio to call for help. So if I screw up, and just don't understand how to sail without a class, I can furl up the sails and just motor back in.

If the weather is right for sailing this weekend, would it really be the height of insanity to take her out and try to sail?

I was thinking of only one sail to start. Should it be the jib or the main? I have a Genoa and a smaller jib, so I have a choice of jibs as well.

What do you think?
Old 02-12-2009, 09:07   #2

Boat: Charter
Are you saying you've never helped sail a boat before? Then bring a friend, or friend of a friend, just someone who knows how to sail along. You can learn the basics, but it will be much easier with someone to get you through some of it.

Realize that even motoring, this boat will probably handle differently than your typical power-boat.
sec906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 09:17   #3