Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-09-2009, 08:01   #1

Boat: 1988 48' Offshore
Brunswick, GA to Mobile

I'm buying a '94 Hunter Legend 37.5 in Brunswick, GA, and need to get her to Mobile, Alabama. My choices are trucking her overland (booring) or sailing down the ICW to Miami, then back up the west coast (much more fun)

I'm thinking of breaking the trip up into 3 legs - Brunswick to Miami, Miami to Clearwater, Clearwater to Mobile. How much time do I realistically need to plan for each leg of the trip? I'm new to cruising, so I have no idea how far you can comfortably expect to travel per day.

Any trip advice and things to look out for would also be appreciated!

Lee Scott
oldjags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 09:01   #2

Boat: Island Packet, 35, - Serendipity
Lee,
There are lots and lots of threads on ICW travel so do some searching and you will find everything you could possibly need to know.
I did the trip from Jacksonville, FL to West Palm Beach last spring and a cruising guide to FL that covered the whole trip was quite helpful in finding places to anchor, get fuel, food, etc. I can't recall the name, but it was a whitepaperback ~1.5" thick. You can find it at any retail marine store.
Here is a summary of each days run we made.
Jacksonville-St.Augustine
St. Augustine - New Smyrna Beach
New Smyrna Beach - Titusville
Titusville - Vero Beach
Vero - Ft. Pierce
Ft. Pierce - West Palm
The ICW can be pretty challenging to sail unless it is downwind due to the amount of winding you have to do, so plan on lots of motoring.
We anchored out each night, but there are plenty of marinas along the way if you prefer to be tied to a dock at night.
Good Luck,
--Eric
Eric M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2009, 10:53   #3