Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-01-2018, 18:56   #1

Would you deliver her?

Hi everyone,

Before heading to topic i have to say thank you. I have benefited so much from reading these forums and learning from more seasoned sailors!

This time, i got a sketchy gig and i would like your opinions on this:

So i was invited to join a sailboat crew that is supposed to deliver a boat from the Beleares islands to Portugal.

I have some experience in the Portuguese west coast, which can be unforgiving at times, but haven’t skippered across Gibraltar. I am studying the passage, and aware of some of the problems we may run into, but if you guys have any useful advice, please leave a tip!

After the first crew meeting I understand that i am the most experienced crew and i get the feeling im being brought as a human liferaft, if you know what i mean. I refused to skipper the boat, as i am not even the most graduated aboard, but kept my intentions to crew and be useful on passage planning and sailing. I need the mileage anyway and its a good opportunity to get some experience points.

Now, “the plot thickens” when i ask about all the safety gear and precautions and i find out the boat has no RADAR or iAIS.

Now, equipment fails appart, i can get navionics and iAIS on my devices (iphone, ipad) but no radar...?

What do you guys think...Would you sail her?!
where.is.mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2018, 19:29   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Would you deliver her?

Like many members of CF, I have sailed thousands of miles on sailboats, offshore, across ocean, and coastal, without RADAR or AIS (or GPS).

While I have not yet sailed there, I hope to in the future. So take the following comment with a splash of saltwater.

If you have a sound seaworthy boat, good GPS, charts, navigation lights, a good alert and watchful crew and captain, you should be able to do the trip.