Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2017, 20:32   #1

Boat: 2005, Dufour 38.5
Wintering on the hook

Hi all,
Please forgive the bad idea (if it is)... newbie here.

Is it possible or reasonable to continue living on anchor throughout winter anywhere in the Med?
Don’t get me wrong, bad weather and blows will obviously make a mariner a must at certain times, I suppose more of a direct question would be- do you really need to find a “winter mariner”.
We are young and not to fussy with comfort in order to save a few bucks.

Thank you in advance
Ausluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 07:18   #2

Boat: Trident marine Voyager 30
Re: Wintering on the hook

You list Ionian as your location and there is a number of places there where you can winter without going in to a marina, someplaces you may need to leave if something nasty shows up from the wrong direction . Keep in mind that the services that are there in the summer may not be there in the winter.
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 08:41   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54

Making heat and electricity yourself through the winter will burn a lot of diesel and put a lot of hours on the heating and generating plant.

I always found it cheaper and nicer to go into a marina on cheap winter rates, and plug in, at least during the three or four coldest months, compared to staying on my mooring. YMMV.

In the Ionian, if I'm not mistaken, you have a big choice of free town quays to go onto. Why wouldn't you do that?
We must have a turn together . . . . I undress . . . . hurry me out of sight of the land,
Cushion me soft . . . . rock me in billowy drowse,
Dash me with amorous wet . . . . I can repay you."
Walt Whitman
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 09:00   #4

Boat: Prout Snowgoose 35