Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2018, 02:25   #16
Registered User
 
Kokanee's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Boat: Cuddles 30ft Motor Sailer
Posts: 285
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maka View Post
So what is the down side risk if you operate your VHF and SSB radios on your own boat with no license or permit ?
It depend where you are from. In most countries, you are not able to register for an MMSI number until you have an MROC, so you will not have DSC or AIS capability.
Kokanee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 06:11   #17
cruiser

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 45
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschmidt View Post
Yes you can go to commercial private peddlers of government documents who charge you for something you can do yourself for little or nothing. They hawk everything from US postage stamps to IRS tax forms but look at the web addresses, I scrolled through seven pages on a Google search before I came to an official FCC.gov website. The government doesn't pay Google to put their websites at the top and the government doesn't share your personal data with commercial firms. Or just sit down at your own computer and make up a radio operator's license for yourself, like the old Vietnam CIA ID known as the "Get Out of Jail Free card. I'll guaranty that most US or foreign government personnel would not know the real thing if they saw . Heck, TSA had never see the Merchant Mariner Document or the TWIC card when they first came out, not sure if they have yet.



first what kind of person you are, criminal or something when you are suggesting someone to make forgery, fake document and even take it abroad.
second, maybe you can bring fake document and fool them in this country.....




in Croatia they will check all your documents, serial numbers, certificate numbers etc,with relevant authorities before they give you a boat, they all doing that in charter companies but they will not tell you that. I know that because my brother in law waking for one of companies that operate in Croatia.


simply, why you can not get one of these and have peace of mind rest of your life, wherever you go.

earlgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 06:37   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winthrop, MA
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 237
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

As Hartley said: go to fcc website. Register yourself with them. Apply for a Restrictred Radiotelephone Operator Permit, pay your money, download the .pdf, print said .pdf of your permit, and you’re done.
Tailwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 09:31   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 199
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

OK, thanks all. I have successfully applied for the RR at the FCC website and paid $70. The next day I got a return email from a Croatian charter company, answering my questions and confirming that the RR is one that would be accepted.

Your feedback was very helpful.
Bullshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 10:33   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,766
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullshooter View Post
OK, thanks all. I have successfully applied for the RR at the FCC website and paid $70. The next day I got a return email from a Croatian charter company, answering my questions and confirming that the RR is one that would be accepted.

Your feedback was very helpful.

No tests? How did you manage to navigate the FCC site? I looked, and couldn't figure it out in the two minutes I gave it.
letsgetsailing3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 11:19   #21
Senior Cruiser
 
Hartleyg's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Boat: Tayana 48DS 48'
Posts: 177
Images: 4
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Let get sailing, they don't make it easy

Basically, go to the FCC's ULS system page for the FRN login:

FCC Universal Licensing System (ULS): ULS Home

If you have an FRN, log in, otherwise, click on "Register" to get your FRN.

Once you have an FRN login, click on the "Online Filing" Login button, and log in. Once you're there, click on "Apply for a new license" on the lefthand column of choices. Select "RR" as your license service, and walk through the steps from there.

This is how you would apply for a ship's license as well as almost any other sort of action regarding an FCC license (including ham licenses). If you already have a ship's license or ham ticket, you will want to associate it with your FRN, which will make renewals, modifications, etc. MUCH easier.

73 DE Hartley
S/V Atsa
Hartleyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 07:31   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 199
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

No tests. The most difficult glitch was when I clicked on the button to Register, I got the dreaded Site not Reached screen. I tried a different computer. Same thing, several times. Finally it somehow reached, but I can't say I know how.

PS thank you, HartleyG. I got an email today saying my license was granted.
Bullshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2020, 09:11   #23
Registered User
 
i-Zapp's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: NE Ohio
Boat: Hunter 33.5'
Posts: 14
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

links have changed slightly, so for the benefit of others:

apply for FRN (FCC registration number):
https://apps.fcc.gov/coresWeb/publicHome.do

then apply for "RR" license using your new FRN:
https://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsEntry/licManager/login.jsp

pay your 70 bucks and then wait for FCC to "process" the application. not sure what happens next, but assume that i'll receive notice when complete and which time I'll officially have an FCC VHF license.
i-Zapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 08:28   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Annapolis area
Posts: 33
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Hi everyone. Is my understanding correct that I can only apply for RROP once I actually have a boat? I just did FCC (FRN) registration process but wondering if I can also get RROP license now or only once I have a boat VHF to register...
Thanks in advance
Ralph71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 09:48   #25
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 4,000
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph71 View Post
Hi everyone. Is my understanding correct that I can only apply for RROP once I actually have a boat? I just did FCC (FRN) registration process but wondering if I can also get RROP license now or only once I have a boat VHF to register...
Thanks in advance
The RROP belongs to a person, a ship station license belongs to the vessel. To get an RROP without a vessel fill out form 605, skip sections 24 and 25. Fill out Schedule E with code RR. Submit your forms and your $ (Form 159). Do it all online, much faster and easier.

https://www.fcc.gov/wireless/bureau-...m/commercial-0
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 10:32   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Annapolis area
Posts: 33
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dsanduril View Post
The RROP belongs to a person, a ship station license belongs to the vessel. To get an RROP without a vessel fill out form 605, skip sections 24 and 25. Fill out Schedule E with code RR. Submit your forms and your $ (Form 159). Do it all online, much faster and easier.

https://www.fcc.gov/wireless/bureau-...m/commercial-0
------------------------
Thank you very much for your quick reply Dsanduril. But, with apologies, now I'm even more confused: I just completed (on the 20th attempt or so, because the website kept crashing) an RROP license application via link that iZapp posted (https://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsEntry/licManager/login.jsp), paid my $70 and received notification that application was received. Is this the same or a different license (as I didn't go thru form 605)?

I also now understand that ship's license (SSL) is different (form 605) and that I can only do once I actually have a boat...
Ralph71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 11:16   #27
Registered User
 
nolakennedys's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Amelia Island FL
Boat: Morgan Out Island Ketch
Posts: 77
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by i-Zapp View Post
links have changed slightly, so for the benefit of others:

apply for FRN (FCC registration number):
https://apps.fcc.gov/coresWeb/publicHome.do

then apply for "RR" license using your new FRN:
https://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsEntry/licManager/login.jsp

pay your 70 bucks and then wait for FCC to "process" the application. not sure what happens next, but assume that i'll receive notice when complete and which time I'll officially have an FCC VHF license.

Thank you so much, made it much easier for me to apply online. I had to find my HAM radio FRN though. A quick Google search and reset a password and I was in. License approved!
nolakennedys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 11:31   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 167
Images: 1
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph71 View Post
------------------------
Thank you very much for your quick reply Dsanduril. But, with apologies, now I'm even more confused: I just completed (on the 20th attempt or so, because the website kept crashing) an RROP license application via link that iZapp posted (https://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsEntry/licManager/login.jsp), paid my $70 and received notification that application was received. Is this the same or a different license (as I didn't go thru form 605)?

I also now understand that ship's license (SSL) is different (form 605) and that I can only do once I actually have a boat...
If you filled out the RR application online at that site and then paid $70, you are fine. The site fills out the form FCC 605 for you in the background. You can actually navigate within the site to "my applications" where it will allow you to download and print a paper copy of the form, although there is no reason to do this.
Pandor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 11:54   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Annapolis area
Posts: 33
Re: How do I get a VHF license?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandor View Post
If you filled out the RR application online at that site and then paid $70, you are fine. The site fills out the form FCC 605 for you in the background. You can actually navigate within the site to "my applications" where it will allow you to download and print a paper copy of the form, although there is no reason to do this.
--------------------
Thank you very much Pandor
Ralph71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
license, vhf

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canadian VHF License for US Herbseesmoore Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 35 07-02-2017 09:22
FCC license VHF SSB radios: confused about RickyEM Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 63 25-08-2014 06:31
Cost to Get a 6-Pack License? Green23 Training, Licensing & Certification 16 26-05-2012 06:40
VHF license Misiu Marine Electronics 9 06-08-2010 16:24
VHF Radio License Dougfuller Marine Electronics 5 23-03-2010 15:12

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.