Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2021, 11:56   #1

Boat: Robertson and Caine Leopard 40
Lithium charging questions

I'm a newbie to LiPo, so please bear with my ignorance...but I want to make sure I'm doing this correctly.

I recently changed out my five 210ah Lifeline AGMs for 24 packs of 24 Panasonic NCR18650PF LiPo batteries (saved about 550# and I believe I about doubled my useable capacity). Each is 203ah/3.6v/730Wh. I have six 'units' of 4 packs each wired in series and parallel, so its nominally 16v at 203ah...approx 1200ah total.

The manual says the "nominal voltage" is 3.6 (as does the sticker on each pack), and the "charge voltage" is 4.2.

1. Do I set my charger to 14.4 (4x3.6) or 16.8 (4x4.2) to maximize my bank? To me, logic says 16.8....but that seems pretty high to someone who's always used AGMs.

2. If its 16.8, my xantrex fsw3012 maxes out at 16v, so do I set my solar controller to 16.8 to make up the difference (when on shore power or genset)?

Again--a lithium newbie, so thanks for your inputs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LiPo CRII.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	338.6 KB
ID:	237641   Click image for larger version

Name:	cr11 batt.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	441.8 KB
ID:	237642  

gbillman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 12:19   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31
Re: Lithium charging questions

Before you connect anything, I think you should have a read of this. Written by Rod Collins who is a member on here and his advice is well thought of:

https://marinehowto.com/lifepo4-batteries-on-boats/

Having just commissioned my own bank, I have followed his lead.

BTW those batteries are LiPo not LifePO4 which is normally discussed for yachts. Are you aware the cells are cylindrical and have a life of 500 cycles: