Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Lithium Power Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2021, 12:19   #1

How tight to compress a LFP package?

I’m in the status to design & construct some LFP packages. Now I’m wondering about the compression I’ve to consider (compression is strongly recommended due to lifetime of the package).
In a seperate forum I read not to exceed 12 psi @ 50% SoC.

Off topic: Well, psi is not a SI-standard. As a German engineer I prefer N/mm² (N/sqr mm). Would be nice to get recommendations acc. to SI. Makes it easier to compare them.

The next thing I’m wondering about is, where these pressure applies to. Or, to be more clear, which area do I’ve to consider (remembering the "Nürnberger Halbkugeln" event)? So, is it only (one side) of the end of the package? Or was that recommendation related only to a 4 piece package (resulting in a 12 VDC system) and it doubles for a 24 VDC system and quadruples for a 48 VDC system? (I can’t find it anymore but the value of 12 psi was „burned in". (Just aside: As a backup I’m considering a (very little) 12 VDC system as well. TBH, up to now, I haven’t find what for. Hence, we’ll see what will happen…).

Any recommendations are welcome.

Cheers
Dirk
Dirk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2021, 18:23   #2

Re: How thight to compress a LFP package?

!2 psi? where on the cell and how do you measure it? Sounds like someone plucking a figure out of the air and using that to make themselves sound like an authority.